About Chamber Music Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

For over 80 years, the mission of Chamber Music Cincinnati has been to present ensembles and recitalists of the highest quality to Cincinnati audiences.

The Cincinnati Chamber Music Society was formed in 1929, making it the fifth such society in the country, after Coleman Chamber Music Association of Pasadena (1904), The Buffalo Chamber Music Society (1924), The Library of Congress (1925), and Chamber Music Society of Detroit (1927).

Chamber Music Cincinnati is the only musical organization in the city regularly presenting internationally-known chamber groups. There is hardly a well-known ensemble that has not appeared on their series over the years: the Coolidge, the Kolisch, the Budapest, the Amadeus, the Hungarian, the Juilliard, and the Guarneri Quartets; the Beaux Arts Trio; and I Solisti Veneti are a few among them. The Society was one of the first to introduce to the public the Cleveland Quartet, the Tokyo, the Alban Berg, and the Emerson String Quartet, all of whom have gone on to make important reputations.


John Spencer, president
Martin McConnell, vice president
Charles Bretz, secretary
Jennifer Elliott, treasurer
James Englert, Jr., programming chair

Board of Directors

Richard Allen
Reuel Ash
Sally Dessner
Richard Elliott
James Englert
Lee Fiser
Nicholas Fry
Kenneth Griffiths
Joel Hoffman
Jonathan Lippincott
Nancy Lipppincott
Kayla Springer

Advisory Board

Gary Blachman
Mary Edwards
Barbara Gottling
Emily Hodges
Irmela Pogue
Elizabeth Pridonoff
James Tocco