Ensemble 4.1

Tuesday, January 23, 2018, 7:30 p.m.

Jarson-Kaplan Theater


“It is absolutely evident just how much joy these musicians of 4.1 experience when they perform. The ensemble 4.1 not only plays in total harmony together, but their dedication to the music and the performance shines through every note.“ – DeWeZet

“…four highclass woodwind players and one excellent pianist.” – Schwaebische Zeitung

Founded in 2013 and anchored by the remarkable pianist, Thomas Hoppe, best known for his role with the ATOS Trio, frequently featured on our series, Ensemble 4.1 has the distinction of being the world’s only regularly touring “windtet.”

Widely praised in Europe, the ensemble performs masterpieces for this original setting by Mozart and Beethoven, in addition to discovering rarely played compositions from the 19th and 20th centuries, including Walter Gieseking, Theodor Verhey, Herrmann Zilcher and David Stephen. With the announced retirement of the Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet in 2019, Ensemble 4.1 seems poised to assume pride of place among touring ensembles for lovers of the wind music.

This concert by Ensemble 4.1 takes us back to the beginnings of Chamber Music Cincinnati. The
Gieseking B flat Major Quintet was played by Walter Gieseking for a CMC house concert on March 17,
1926 when he was in Cincinnati to play the Brahms second piano concerto with the Cincinnati
Symphony Orchestra under Fritz Reiner. We are proud to present it again 92 years later.

Piano Quintet in Eb-Major, K. 452 – W.A. Mozart

Jerusalem Mix – Avner Dorman

Piano Quintet in Bb-Major – Walter Gieseking